Short & Simple: Short Story Reading Challenge

In thinking about the different ways I want to challenge myself to read this year, I’ve decided to create my own challenge. I love short stories. LOVE THEM. But I am lazy and not great about seeking out stories beyond some well-known magazines, journals and collections. This year I am challenging myself to read a short story collection each month. Each collection should be by an author I’ve not read previously, or with whom I am very nominally familiar. I am not going to hold it against myself if I have come across an author in a Best American Stories collection, but have read no other stories by that author, ever.

Another option (which I also liked) would be to read one short story a week, from an unknown author or source. I tend to read stories published in the New Yorker, the Atlantic, Tin House and in the Best American Short Stories collections. But there are tons and tons of other journals out there publishing short stories by new and not-so-new authors. It could be fun to seek out those less well-known sources. Most publish at least some things online, so this could be a very affordable challenge as well. Maybe I’ll do this next year! I’m still listing it just because even if I don’t read from 52 different sources, I would like to keep track of where I’m reading as well as what I’m reading.

Goal #1

  • Read 12 short story collections by 12 different (unknown to me) authors.

Goal #2 (alternate)

  • Read 52 stories from 52 different sources, online or in print.